Tonmawr 23-38 Pontypridd

9.10.2010  14:30
Principality Premiership
Cwm Gwenffrwd

Pontypridd kept their place at the top of the Welsh Premiership with this hard fought bonus point win at the Whitworth Ground. Conditions were conducive for running rugby and this is what the crowd got in this enthralling game where the lead changed hands seven times.

Tonmawr opened the scoring in the second minute through a penalty by ex Pontypridd outside half Dai Flanagan. However, through some excellent tactical kicking by Simon Humberstone, Pontypridd found themselves dominating territory, and scored the first try of the game through flanker Wayne O’Connor, following some good work by the forwards.

Tonmawr with their pack dominant in the scrum, regained the lead with Flanagan’s second penalty, and pushed further ahead after twenty-two minutes when lock Danny Hockin went over unopposed following a maul on the Ponty twenty-two, with Flanagan putting over the conversion.

As was the nature of the game, Pontypridd came back strongly, no 8 Brendan Lyons leading the way with some impressive charges, one of which led to a  try scored by Humberstone, who also added the conversion. Ponty took the lead after thirty minutes when Humberstone put over his first penalty, only for Flanagan to hit back with another penalty for the home team. Right on half time, Pontypridd went down to fourteen men as full back Gareth Wyatt was sin binned for a trip, and his team going into the interval trailing by 16pts to 15.

Tonmawr could not make the most of their numerical advantage and it was Pontypridd who took the lead when Humberstone kicked his second and third penalties. True to the nature of this game the lead again changed hands as Flanagan went in for a try which he also converted This was the last time that plucky Tonmawr were to have the lead.

Humberstone put over a drop goal which gave Ponty a one point lead going into the last quarter. Pontypridd, now with their tails up got their third try after 76 minutes and a gem it was too. A counter attack from deep was rounded off by Chris Dicomidis who galloped in from thirty metres out, with Humberstone adding the conversion. Pontypridd were hunting the bonus point try, and it came through hooker Huw Dowden from close range and again converted by Humberstone, giving Pontypridd a winning margin of 23pts to 38


15.Gareth Wyatt. 14.Lewis I Williams. 13.Adam Thomas (Chris Clayton). 12.Dafydd Lockyer (Lewis K Williams). 11.Matthew Nuthall. 10.Simon Humberstone. 9. Kristian Baller.

1.Stuart Williams. 2.Huw Dowden. 3. Phil Osborne (Ken Knaggs).4. Cory Hill.

5.Chris Dicomidis – cpt. 6.Jake Thomas (Ed Siggery). 7.Wayne O’Connor. 8.Brendan Lyons (Craig Locke).

Principality Premiership > Rugby > Fixtures & Results > Tonmawr - Pontypridd 23:38

Fixtures & Results


Fixtures & Results