Menu / Cynnwys

Pontypridd 28 vs Pontypool 21

Sat 12th August, 14:30, Sardis Road
Pre-season Friendly

Pontypridd kicked off their pre-season fixtures with a 28-21 win against Pontypool at Sardis Road.

An early penalty try for the hosts was followed by three further tries from Rob Jones, McCauley Rowley and Harvey Nash with Joseph Scrivens kicking two conversions and Josh Phillips adding a third.

The 80 minutes were split up into three periods, with two 25-minute periods before a final 30-minute period.

The hosts created the first opportunity of the afternoon with Dale Stuckey breaking down the wing with a grubber kick through which saw Pontypool winger Amosa Nove being tackled over the dead ball line by centre McCauley Rowley.

Following a series of scrums on the five-meter line, referee Mike English ran out of patience with the Pooler front row and gave a penalty try to the hosts.

Pontypridd closed the first 25-minute period inside the visitors 22 with a rolling maul being stopped short of the try-line although they led at the interval by 7-0.

Score after the 25 minute interval – Pontypridd 7-0 Pontypool

The visitors started better in the second 25-minute period as they crossed for their first try with Joel Mahoney scoring following good hands in midfield, fly-half Matthew Jarvis added the conversion.

Pooler gained momentum as Pontypridd started to give away a few penalties, once they got into the 22 they used the rolling maul to good effect and they scored in the corner for their second try of the afternoon.

Alex Lloyd gave the platform for the next Pontypridd attack with a brilliant 50/22 from inside his own half, the rolling maul that followed was set up well, hooker Rob Jones crossed over for the home team’s second try of the match. Fly-half Joseph Scrivens added the conversion to level the scores at 14-14.

A Joe Miles error at the restart gave Pooler an opportunity to re-take the lead before the end of the second interval but the Pontypridd defence held strong as they headed into the final half hour level.

HALF TIME (50 minutes) – Pontypridd 14-14 Pontypool

The second half started with Ponty applying early pressure with a dominant scrum which saw them win several penalties from referee English, who then gave a yellow card to Pontypool prop Sam Cochrane.

Eventually the hosts managed to cross for their third try as the attack went down the blindside with Rowley crossing in the corner, with Scrivens adding the conversion.

Pooler winger Jermaine Chatham was shown a yellow card in the final minutes for pulling back a chaser and despite three lineouts, the hosts failed to capitalize on the opportunities.

Eventually, Ponty managed to pick up a fourth try with scrum-half Harvey Nash taking a penalty quickly as he darted through to score, fly-half Josh Phillips added the extras.

It was Pontypool who had the final say with a third try after a dominant scrum saw Ben Moa dot down on the try line. Jenkins added the conversion in the final act of the game.

Pontypridd continue their pre-season preparations next weekend as they travel away to Cinderford RFC on the 19th of August, before welcoming Bargoed RFC to Sardis Road on Thursday 24th of August.

FULL TIME – Pontypridd 28-21 Pontypool (12/8/2023)

Match report – Iestyn Thomas


1st 25 minute XV:

15. Iestyn Griffiths. 14. Liam Lloyd. 13. McCauley Rowley. 12. Ryan Wilkins. 11. Dale Stuckey. 10. Josh Phillips. 9. Joel Raikes.

1. Tom Devine. 2. Mitch Savage. 3. Garyn Daniel. 4. Mitch Barnard. 5. Chris Dicomidis. 6. Callum Oliver. 7. Cally James. 8. Kristian Parker (c).

Subs: Gavin Parry, Davon Davies, Ewan Skuse, Clayton Gullis

2nd 25 minute XV:

15. Alex Lloyd. 14. Will Huggins. 13. Garyn Smith. 12. Will Keep. 11. Sam Hayman. 10. Joseph Scrivens. 9. Harvey Nash.

1. Kian Mattravers. 2. Rob Jones. 3. Tom Harper. 4. James Murphy. 5. Macauley Cook. 6. Cai James. 7. Mason Hughes. 8. Joe Miles.

Subs: Ben Stephens, Kyan Lewis

Tries: Penalty try, Rob Jones, McCauley Rowley, Harvey Nash

Conversions: Joseph Scrivens x 2, Josh Phillips


15. Tom Davies. 14. Amosa Nove. 13. Pat Lewis. 12. Dylan Lewis. 11. Jermaine Chatham. 10. Ethan Davies. 9. Archie Lloyd

1. Kyan Best. 2. Jack Gillard. 3. Peter Lloyd. 4. Adam Brown. 5. Garin Price. 6. Mike Herbert (c). 7. Adam Stratton. 8. Ieuan Jones

Subs: Sam Cochrane, Lewis Johnson, Will Griffiths, Matthew Jarvis, Ollie Drake, Matty Bancroft, Ashley Sweet, Joel Mahoney, Callum Davies, Deon Smith, Jake Davies, Ben Moa, Luke Fleming-Jones

Tries: Joel Mahoney, unconfirmed, Ben Moa

Conversions: Matthew Jarvis x 3

Yellow Cards: Sam Cochrane, Jermaine Chatham

Referee: Mike English