Menu / Cynnwys

Bridgend Ravens 15 vs Pontypridd 13

Sat 20th January, 14:30, Brewery Field
Indigo Premiership

A last-gasp penalty from Joseph Scrivens drifted wide as a valiant effort from Pontypridd came up short in Bridgend.

Five penalties, four from Jamin Hodgkins and one from replacement Paul Short was enough to seal victory for Bridgend despite a late Kyan Lewis try for Ponty.

Before kick-off a fitting tribute took place in memory of former Bridgend, Wales and British & Irish Lions fullback JPR Williams. The two teams, alongside both sets of supporters came together for a one-minute silence before a moment of applause.

The first opportunity of the match went Ponty’s way after a flat pass from fly-half Joseph Scrivens saw openside flanker Sion Parry break through the line on halfway, but inside centre Ben Burnell’s pass to winger Will Huggins didn’t stick.

It was the visitors who opened the scoring in the 12th minute from the boot of fullback Josh Phillips who converted a penalty.

Bridgend crossed the try-line moments later through captain Evan Yardley but an earlier knock on meant the try wasn’t awarded. But some sustained pressure from the hosts gave fly-half Jamin Hodgkins a shot at goal, which he took to level the scores at 3-3 after 18 minutes of play.

Josh Phillips kicked his second penalty of the afternoon a few minutes later to restore Ponty’s three point lead.

Injuries were starting to mount up for the visitors with Ben Burnell and winger Louis Rochefort-Shugar both receiving treatment before departing the field.

A second penalty from Hodgkins with the final kick of the half levelled the scores at 6-6 at the interval.

HALF TIME – Bridgend 6-6 Pontypridd

The Ravens claimed the first points of the second half with a third penalty from Hodgkins which gave them the lead for the first time in the 45th minute. This was followed by a second successful effort at the posts in quick succession three minutes later – his fourth of the afternoon to extend the hosts’ lead to six points.

Bridgend replacement Paul Short kicked his first penalty of the afternoon in the 65th minute as the home side continued to keep the score board ticking over, 15 points to 6 with the game in the final quarter.

There was still hope for the visitors despite fullback Phillips departing with an injury. Ponty worked their way over the try-line with a looping pass from Garyn Smith resulting in a try for replacement Kyan Lewis. Fly-half Scrivens’ conversion closed the gap to two points in the final stages.

There were a couple of changes for an injury-ravaged Ponty which saw backrowers Sion Parry playing on the wing and Aled Ward playing at outside centre for the last ten minutes of the match.

Ponty finished the contest strongly but some late attacks were repelled by some stoic Bridgend defence. Then with the last play of the match Pontypridd were awarded a penalty at the scrum set-piece. Joseph Scrivens stepped up but his attempt from the tee went agonisingly wide.

Next up for Pontypridd is a return to Sardis Road when they welcome Pontypool on Saturday 27th January for a 2:30pm kick-off.

FULL TIME – Bridgend 15-13 Pontypridd (20/1/2024)

Match report – Iestyn Thomas


15. Josh Phillips (Mitch Barnard). 14. Will Huggins. 13. Garyn Smith. 12. Ben Burnell (Kyan Lewis). 11. Louis Rochefort-Shugar (Harvey Nash). 10. Joseph Scrivens. 9. Joel Raikes (Cally James).

1. Ben Stephens (Tom Devine). 2. Gavin Parry (Rob Jones). 3. Morgan Bosanko (Tom Harper). 4. Kristian Parker (c) 5. Macauley Cook. 6. Cai James. 7. Sion Parry. 8. Joe Miles (Aled Ward).

Subs: 16. Rob Jones. 17. Tom Devine. 18. Tom Harper. 19. Mitch Barnard. 20. Aled Ward. 21. Cally James. 22. Harvey Nash. 23. Kyan Lewis.

Try: Kyan Lewis

Conversion: Joseph Scrivens

Penalties: Josh Phillips x 2 


15. Edd Howley. 14. Mike Powell. 13. Joseph Gatt. 12. Rhys Williams. 11. Stuart Floyd-Ellis. 10. Jamin Hodgkins. 9. Chris Williams.

1. Alex George. 2. Evan Yardley (c). 3. Matholwch Iorwerth-Scott. 4. Dylan Burrows. 5. Jack Pope. 6. Alfie Llewellyn. 7. Dafi Davies. 8. Jordan Collier.

Subs: 16. Gareth Harvey. 17. Harry Olding. 18. Liam Tobias. 19. Ben Thomas. 20. Hemi Barnes. 21. Connor Tantum. 22. Paul Short. 23. Tommy Morgan.

Penalties: Jamin Hodgkins x 4, Paul Short x 1

Referee: Rhys Jones

Assistant referees: 1 – Jamie Morgan, 2 – Marcus Caudle

WRU Man of the Match: Sion Parry