Pontypool 15-48 Pontypridd

12.9.2009  14:30
Principality Premiership
Pontypool Park

Pontypridd got their Premiership campaign back on track with a six try demolition of Pontypool, but their emphatic victory being anything but a stroll in the park as they worked hard for their rewards.

An early try for Adam Thomas was cancelled out by a retaliatory score for Dan Connolly  following an opportunist hack and chase by Pontypool, both scores being converted. Both teams were attack minded during an evenly balanced opening quarter, but Ponty then gaining a distinct territorial advantage to forge ahead.

Solid in the set pieces and highly aggressive in the loose, Ponty benefited from a Dai Flanagan penalty and a converted try scored on the charge by lock Chris Martenko from an attacking line out, to post an interval lead of 7pts to 17.

A long range penalty converted by Flanagan straight from the restart gave little indication of what was to follow from a fired up Ponty side. Ever willing to counter at pace, Pontypool claimed a try by winger Dan Robinson, but apart from a solitary penalty struck by Sam Mills, that was to be their last scoring contribution.

Putting a tendency to commit costly handling errors behind them, and with half backs Downes and Flanagan orchestrating their efforts, Ponty scavenged effectively for possession and linked up well in attack to take over the game.

Winger Matthew Nuthall claimed a try from a clever Flanagan chip through, with Downes then sniping over from an attacking scrum. Centre Dafydd Lockyer cruised in unopposed for another score, all converted from various angles by outside half Flanagan.

Pontypool remained competitive in their efforts to the end, but a late interception try scored by Nuthall and converted by Kristian Baller wrapping up a convincing bonus point away win for Pontypridd by 15pts to 48.


15.Adam Thomas. 14.Matthew Nuthall. 13.Gavin Dacey. 12.Dafydd Lockyer. 11.Chris Clayton (Owen Williams). 10.Dai Flanagan (Matt Hutchings). 9.Rhys Downes (Kristian Baller).

1.Sam Hobbs (John Williams). 2.Rhys Williams. 3.Pat Palmer. 4.Chris Martenko (Ryan Savage). 5.Chris Dicomidis. 6.Kristian Dacey. 7.Wayne O'Connor (Darren Waters). 8.Nathan Strong - cpt.


Ponty.net > Rugby > Fixtures & Results > Pontypool - Pontypridd 15:48 > results

Fixtures & Results


Fixtures & Results